India beats Pakistan to win T20 World Cup

The day of 24 September is very memorable day for the Indian cricket team and cricket fans. Today, on 24th September 12 years ago in 2007, India won the first ICC T20 World Cup title. The T20 World Cup was first played in 2007 and Team India won the title by defeating Pakistan by 5 runs under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

India’s two victories in the entire World Cup were the most talked about, one was the title win against Pakistan in the final and the other was also won in the group round against Pakistan. Team India defeated Pakistan in the ball-out and the memories of this match are still completely fresh in the minds of cricket fans.

Former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir was the main architect of the Indian batting line-up. Gambhir scored 75 runs to help India post a competitive total.

Four years later, MS Dhoni helped India win their second 50-over World Cup in 2011 followed by a Champions Trophy win in 2013. Dhoni took retirement from Test cricket in 2014 while his retirement from international cricket is still pending.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here