Rohit Sharma Hit Most Sixes

In his first Test match as an opener, Rohit made several records in the Visakhapatnam Test match against South Africa. He record of hitting the most sixes in a match, and also scored a century in both innings of the test match. Rohit Sharma, who scored 176 in the first innings, was stumped by making 127 in the second innings.

Rohit hit a total number of 13 sixes in one test match. He hit six sixes in the first innings and seven sixes in the second innings. Rohit, hit 13 sixes in a test match, broke the record of Wasim Akram of Pakistan. Akram hit 12 sixes in an unbeaten 257 in October 1996.

During Rohit’s innings during South Africa in Vizag, he surpassed Navjot Singh Sidhu’s record of hitting most sixes in a Test for India. Navjot Singh Sidhu hit 8 sixes in a match against Sri Lanka in a Test match played in Lucknow in January 1994. With his 13th six in test match, now Rohit Sharma holds the record of most number of sixes in all the three formats of the cricket.

  • Test: Rohit Sharma 9* v SA Vizag 2019/20
  • ODI: Rohit Sharma 16 v Aus Bengaluru 2013
  • T20I: Rohit Sharma 10 v SL Indore 2017

List of Players to hit Most Sixes In Test

Brendon McCullum101176645330238.641231776107
Adam Gilchrist961375570204*47.61726677100
Chris Gayle103182721433342.181537104698
Jacques Kallis1662801328922455.374558148897
Virender Sehwag104180858631949.342332123391
Brian Lara13123211953400*52.883448155988
Chris Cairns62104332015833.5352236587
VIV Richards121182854029150.23244595284
Andrew Flintoff79130384516731.7752651382
Mathew Hayden103184862538050.733029104982

Rohit crossed the 50+ mark for the seventh consecutive time in his Test innings in India. Earlier, Everton Weeks (November 1948 – February 1949), Rahul Dravid (November 1997 – March 1998), Andy Flower (March 1993 – November 2000) did it six times.

Century in both Test Innings

Rohit Sharma became the sixth Indian batsman to score a century in both innings of a Test match. Vijay Hazare was the first Indian batsman to score a century in both innings of a Test match.

Player1st Inn2nd InnsMatchVenueSeason
Vijay Hazare116145Australia v IndiaAdelaide Oval1947/48
Sunny Gavaskar124220West Indies v IndiaQueen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad1970/71
Sunny Gavaskar111137Pakistan v IndiaNational Stadium, Karachi1978/79
Sunny Gavaskar107182*India v West IndiesEden Gardens, Calcutta1978/79
Rahul Dravid190103*India in New ZealandWestpacTrust Park, Hamilton1998/99
Rahul Dravid110135Pakistan in IndiaEden Gardens, Kolkata2004/05
Virat Kohli115141India in AustraliaAdelaide Oval, Adelaide2014/15
Ajinkya Rahane127100India v South AfricaDelhi2015/16
Rohit Sharma176127India v South AfricaVisakhapatnam2018/19

Rohit was stumped in both innings of the test match. In both innings, Quinton de Kock stumps him with the ball of Keshav Maharaj. He became the first Indian batsman to be stumped in both innings of a Test match.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here